explore, enjoy and protect the planet

About Us

The Metro Atlanta Group comprises the largest Sierra Club membership in Georgia and is dedicated to exploring, preserving and protecting the environment within the Atlanta area.

The Metro Atlanta Group of the Sierra Club is the grassroots organizational section of the Sierra Club. Its members live primarily in Fulton and DeKalb counties of Georgia, in the metropolitan Atlanta area. The Atlanta Group functions under an Executive Committee, comprised of five members. The elected ExCom members serve a two-year term. The ExCom functions as the guiding and administrative leaders for the members in the Atlanta area. Others serve roles in doing conservation work, lead outings trips, conduct political advocacy and meet and interact with Sierrans in Atlanta.

The Executive Committee normally meets the first Tuesday of every month at 7:30 pm. Meetings are usually held at a local eatery. For more information about attending these meetings, please contact an Executive Committee member.

2014 Metro Atlanta Group Leaders

Executive Committee (Ex-Com)
Responsibility Name Email / Phone
Co-chair Gordon Draves nonsmoke4gahotmail.com
and Membership
Konrad Hayashi rainingatlgmail.com
Delegate to Chapter Ex-Com
and Secretary
Eddie Ehlert edehlertbellsouth.net
Member Jeff Bragg braggsonspringmail.com
Member Martin McConaughy mmcconaughy08gmail.com
770 401-3185
Committee Chairs and other positions
Outings Martin McConaughy mmcconaughy08gmail.com
Group & Chapter Political Chair Eddie Ehlert edehlertbellsouth.net
Treasurer Ted Jackson tvjacksonaol.com
Store Blount Ferrell

Stream Sentinels for Georgia Adopt-A-Stream Program: Larry Kloet, Elizabeth Knowlton, Nancy Wylie

Mailing Address

Metro Atlanta Group
c/o Georgia Sierra Club
743 East College Ave., Suite B
Decatur, GA   30030


Tel.: 404-607-1262
Fax: 404-876-5260


Group Meeting Schedule

Current Bylaws (1999)

Previous bylaws (1985)

ExComm minutes archive